

Paving the Way to the Future

November 12-14, 2014 ~ Wild Dunes Resort, Isle of Palms *Presented by Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C.*

TENTATIVE AGENDA

Wednesday, November 12

4:00 p.m – 6:00 p.m. Registration/Check-in

5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. Welcome Reception sponsored by <u>AARP South Carolina</u>

Thursday, November 13

7:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. Registration

7:30 a. m. Continental Breakfast

8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Annual Summit Symposium

Moderator: Pamela Lackey, AT&T

Opening Remarks (8:00)

Pamela Lackey, AT&T

Vision for South Carolina's Education System (8:05-8:25)

Molly Spearman, Republican Candidate, SC Superintendent of Education

Transportation and Infrastructure (8:30-8:50)

Janet Kavinoky, Executive Director, Transportation & Infrastructure, US Chamber of Commerce

Transportation Needs & Priorities (8:50-9:10)

Janet Oakley, Secretary of Transportation, SC Department of Transportation

SC House Recommendation on Funding (9:10-9:30)

Representative Gary Simrill (York), South Carolina House of Representatives

Break (9:30-9:45)

Statewide Technical Colleges: Plan for the Future (9:45-10:05)

Dr. Jimmie Williamson, Director, SC Technical College System

Bridging the Gap between K-12 and Higher Education in South Carolina (10:10-10:30)

Dr. Richard Sutton, Executive Director, SC Commission on Higher Education

Topic TBD (10:35-10:55)

Doug Smith and Steve Wilmot, Heritage Classic Foundation

Certificate of Need (11:00-11:25)

Speaker TBD

12:00 – 1:30 p.m. Annual Summit Lunch sponsored by **BB&T**

Emcee: Pamela Lackey, AT&T

SC Just Right

Lee Bussell, Chernoff Newman

Keynote Speaker

Cheryl Stanton, SC Department of Employment & Workforce

Updated: 10/28/2014



Paving the Way to the Future

November 12-14, 2014 ~ Wild Dunes Resort, Isle of Palms

S. Hunter Howard Jr. Scholarship

Wilfredo Anderson, Junior, Crestwood High School

Ron McNair Leadership Scholarship

Sarah-Ellen Floyd, Senior, Scholars Academy

2:00 – 3:15 p.m. Executive Committee Meeting

6:00 - 7:00 p.m. Reception sponsored by AT&T

7:00 – 9:30 p.m. Summit Banquet

Emcee: Lisa Weismann, WCSC TV

Sgt. William Jasper Freedom Award (posthumously awarded)

Ike McLeese, former President & CEO, Columbia Chamber of Commerce

Special Dinner Entertainment

Public Servant of the Year

Jim Newsome, President & CEO, SC Ports Authority

Business Leader of the Year Mike Brenan, President

BB&T South Carolina
Passing of the Gavel

Pamela Lackey, AT&T

Mikee Johnson, Cox Industries

9:30 – 11:30 p.m. Hospitality Suite sponsored by SCE&G

Friday, November 14

8:30 – 10:00 a.m. Board of Directors Breakfast and Meeting

Updated: 10/28/2014